Local Government

Provision of local public services is largely controlled by Ceredigion County Council, with additional services and local representation provided by the Town Council.

Ceredigion County Council
Unitary local authority responsible for services in Aberystwyth and surrounding area.
☎ 01545 570881 •

Aberystwyth Town Council
Responsible for certain environmental, leisure and administrative functions.
☎ 01970 624761 •

Member of Parliament

Ben Lake (Plaid Cymru) is Member of Parliament (MP) for Ceredigion Constituency.

Ceredigion has a long history as a Liberal-voting county. In more recent years, it has alternated between Liberal Democrat and Plaid Cymru control.

Welsh Assembly Member

Elin Jones (Plaid Cymru) is Assembly Member (AM) for Ceredigion Constituency.

The wider Mid and West Wales electoral region also appoints four further Assembly Members. As of May 2016 there are 2 Labour Members, 1 Plaid Cymru Member and 1 UKIP Member.

European Parliament

Wales has four MEPs. Following the 2014 EU elections, there is one MEP from each of the Conservative, Labour, Plaid Cymru and UKIP political parties.

» Full details from the European Parliament

Other Useful Links:

Things to see and do    Food and drink    Transport    Features and facts