Local Government

Provision of local public services is largely controlled by Ceredigion County Council, with additional services and local representation provided by the Town Council.

Ceredigion County Council

Unitary local authority responsible for services in Aberystwyth and surrounding area.

Canolfan Rheidol, Rhodfa Padarn, Aberystwyth, SY23 3UE Map

01970 617911

Aberystwyth Town Council

Responsible for certain environmental, leisure and administrative functions.

11 Baker Street, Aberystwyth, SY23 2BJ Map

01970 624761

Political Representation

Westminster: House of Commons

Mark Williams (Liberal Democrats) is Member of Parliament (MP) for Ceredigion Constituency.

Ceredigion has a long history as a Liberal-voting county, though has also seen periods of control by Plaid Cymru.

Voting record and contact details:

General Election results: 2001, 2005, 2010

Cardiff: Welsh Government

Ms Elin Jones (Plaid Cymru) is Assembly Member (AM) for Ceredigion Constituency.
Contact details and biography

The wider Mid and West Wales electoral region also appoints four further Assembly Members. As of May 2011 there are 2 Labour Members, 1 Plaid Cymru Member and 1 Liberal Democrat Member.

Election results: 2007, 2011

Brussels: European Parliament

Wales has four MEPs. Following the 2014 EU elections, there is one MEP from each of the Conservative, Labour, Plaid Cymru and UKIP political parties.

» Full details from the European Parliament

Other Useful Links:

Things to do    Food and drink    Where to stay    Transport    Local services    Features